The Vitruvian ticked off the list

Last weekend saw my last Half Iron Man race of the season. This race has been voted one of the best triathlon of the year for the last few years, so when Mr Potter suggested we enter way back at the beginning of the year. I gave the credit card a bashing to the tune of about £90. Well the season has flown by and Beth and I found our self camping on the site and ready to race in the morning. The alarm went off at 4.45 and we left the tent at about 5.30 with the full moon out and the stars shinning bright. I was thinking that I must be mad to do this. Betty confirmed this more than once – it was freezing at that time of the day. The cherished supporters are aknowledged later. I got over to transition and caught up with a few other BTS racers. See post race photo below. Left to right are, John, Neil, Holly, Guy, Me and Ralph.

P9050020

Well 5 hours 13 min’s and 56 sec’s later after 1.9km of swimming, 86km of cycling and 21km of running, I was at the finish with cramp in my calf but at least I could sit down. It was great having Betty and the other rock hard supporters (Romano, Hailey and family, Karla and Nadia) there to cheer us in. Here are a few photos of us racing taken by those cherished supporters.

The Vitruvian 2009

The race was nice and in a great location but I’m not sure it would get my vote as best triathlon of this year. One more race to go now the week after next I will be back at Perranporth to see if I can beat my 2.22 time from last year. Lets hope the weather is as good as last year.

About fred1960

Old Bloke that doesn't know when to stop
This entry was posted in Berkshire Tri Squad, Half Iron Man, Race reports, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

