I knew I was right about this running thing

I have often told Mr Allison that you should only run when being chased by a lion and a quick review of the rules of cycling have proven me right again.

Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.

If it’s preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run, it is not called a bike race, it is called duathlon or a triathlon. Neither of which is a bike race. Also keep in mind that one should only swim in order to prevent drowning, and should only run if being chased. And even then, one should only run fast enough to prevent capture.

So you could be correct in thinking, but you do Triathlons, (you numpty)??

Not only that, I have entered the Milton Keynes marathon, in April. One of the big attractions for me is that it finishes in a football stadium (Look away Jason) yes the MK Dons.

So running is now my thing, you can keep the Squash, Golf, Swimming and the ski season is almost over.

Yes running that’s the thing!!! I currently struggle to run more than a few miles but need to get the training in for this Marathon so you will see me in the Beeches at Burnham plodding around on Sundays.

A friend at the triathlon club (Ian Lee-Emery) suggested a pyramid set for training. You basically slowly increase the distance and time you run up to about 20 miles and then taper down as the big race approaches. This sounds like about as complicated as I want to get. (My Training usually involves doing what I normally do and hoping for the best)

But now you can all track my progress by following my Sports Tracker feed I load most of my runs into this site, and give me a kick up the arse if I’m not cutting the mustard.

Here is a record of the running I have done recently. I’m  pleased to see that I have just got over the 100km mark. I know this is not a lot compared to some of you who read this drivel but it’s a lot for me.

Date Distance (km)

Time

   Ave Pace   Description
30/10/2011 10.8 01:08:41    9.39 kph   Hangover run with Gope
02/11/2011 6.7 00:35:50    11.2kph   Quick Lunchtime run
06/11/2011 21.2 01:51:57    11.3 kph   Marlow Half Marathon
13/11/2011 9.33 00:40:30    12.6 kph   TV XC race
14/12/2011 6 00:31:10    11.4 kph   Quick Lunchtime Run Huntswood
22/01/2012 13.4 01:19:38    10.1 kph   Run In The Beeches
29/01/2012 18.6 01:58:52    9.41 kph   The Beeches to the sound of VeloBeats
12/02/2012 19.9 02:25:10    8.22 kph   Cookham and back via Hedsor Hill
  105.93 10:31:48    

About fred1960

Old Bloke that doesn't know when to stop
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I knew I was right about this running thing

  1. Betty Booker says:

    my hero x

Leave a Reply

