Cycling in the Surrey Hills

On the August Bank Holiday Alexander and I went cycling in the Surrey Hills with my Brother in-law and Nephew Jason and Oliver. Alex had finished the ride London sportive a couple of weeks before and he had been training up for this hundred mile ride for a few months, so he was obviously quite fit. Oliver who is bike mad at the moment and a big Team Sky fan, so he was really looking forward to the ride. I took one of my spare bike so that Jason could come along. Jason is keen to get some more road cycling in.

I have added the Strava output of the ride below

Strava file from our ride

Strava file from our ride

Well it was a great day out but probably a couple more hills than Jason was expecting. The ride took in the climb up to Headley, Ranmore Common, and Box Hill. This along with a load of other short sharp climbs saw all our legs feeling it.

I took my GoPro with me and have spliced a bit of footage together and uploaded it to You tube and embedded it below.

I enjoyed riding with the boys, and I don’t get out to the Surrey Hills that often, we tend to ride in the Chilterns as they are on our doorstep. By chance I had been planing a 100 mile ride with BTS for a while and the chosen date was the Saturday, two days, before riding with Oliver and the boys. Well the weather put a bit of a dampener on the group ride as heavy rain was forecast. Still we did get three riders mad enough to ignore the forecast and head out to Surrey. Mark, Simon and I made up the three. Unfortunately Simon broke a spoke about 50 miles in and had to take the train home after a short Taxi ride. Mark and I battled on and the light rain decided to get really heavy after Lunch “which was at a great pub link below”
www.theabingerhatch.com

!00 mile route to Surrey and back

!00 mile route to Surrey and back

About fred1960

Old Bloke that doesn't know when to stop
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

